The Don’t Knows

“One day the Don’t Knows will get in, and then where will we be?”. This is a quote from Spike Milligan about our UK parliament. It has led me to think a bit more about the Don’t Knows. Suppose not many people vote? Suppose not many people even register to vote?

An analysis of the last General Election of 2010 is…

How many voted…. 65% of the population
The Don’t Knows…. 35% of the population
Votes for Cameron…. 36% of the vote, which is about 23.5% of the population.

So looks like the Don’t Knows did in fact win! With 35% of the population’s support, compared to Cameron’s 23.5%. They should elect a leader and install themselves in the House of Commons!

My guess is that the Don’t Knows are actually the people who think it’s all lies, and it doesn’t make any difference who gets in, they’re all the same. The media focuses everyone on the limited choice between the available candidates. But in this country there is another choice. TO NOT VOTE. Be a Don’t Know. Withdraw support from the system. Watch it crumble.

The Don’t Knows are treated with derision to try and stop them from being counted. As if they don’t matter. As if they don’t care. As if they don’t think. As if they don’t have an opinion. Phrases like “You have to vote if you want to make a difference”, “No use moaning if you’re not going to do anything about, you should get up and vote” are propagated by the media, and widely repeated to make sure the Don’t Knows are diminished.

But THEY ARE COUNTED. It took me a only a few minutes to get the statistics above from the Internet. They are always recorded and easily available. At the moment there are more Don’t Knows than support the Prime Minister. But that’s not a heavily publicised fact. If the number got a lot bigger, it might start to make an impact. So you could be doing something and making a difference by NOT VOTING.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Don’t Knows

  1. dognamedblue says:

    I tried to make a difference last election
    I walked out of the polling station with my ballot
    didn’t go down too well
    now technically I was looking at it this way:
    my signature creates the live document, the ballot
    the law tells me “the creator owns what he creates”
    they even print your name & address on it, I guess incase it gets lost then they can return it to you
    so i wasn’t stealing anything, just keeping my own property
    the tiny woman in the polling station was going to get violent
    the police were extremely rough, I think if I was 6′ instead of 5′ 6″ things might have been different
    but I think I managed to talk my way out so was only arrested for 2 hours then driven home, they did make me a nice cup of tea, no cell & a couple of cigs to go with it – I think when I told them that “anything I say can be taken down & used in evidence against me” & “no I don’t “understand” I “comprehend”” they couldn’t wait to get rid of me
    don’t think it made a bit of difference, although I did make ceefax as my family always go to great lengths to remind me
    ya live & learn

  2. George Silver says:

    Spot on Suli. People who vote, even if it is for the lesser of two evils, endorse and give validity to the corrupt system.
    Democracy is the word the political apologists use. But what is “democracy”. It’s a chance to put a cross against a name on a ballot paper once approximately every 5 years…that’s all. In the near future everything will be done electronically and they will get whatever result they fancy.
    By not voting they will not be able to use your vote to fiddle the electronic system.
    In fact I would go as far as to say that if you value honesty and decency you should NOT vote.

  3. suliwebster says:

    Dognamedblue, I reckon it would have made a difference, because everyone involved with the incident will remember it. It will have planted a seed in all their minds that there is another possibility. Somewhere down the line that seed may be germinated by another event, and so on. Not to mention the contribution to our universal mind. I tend not to do things that direct because I am solely responsible for my children, or maybe that’s just an excuse. But I am full of admiration for people who are prepared to directly challenge the system, and lead the way. And like you say, at the end of the day, the police didn’t have a leg to stand on.

  4. suliwebster says:

    I don’t intend to vote at the next election, though I always have done before. My belief in democracy has ebbed away in recent years. I don’t know how we all got conned into thinking its the perfect system and we are so lucky to have it. I am sure it will all look crazy to everyone in hindsight, but like so many things, it is hard to see what’s really going on when it is the normal everyday life around you.

Leave a Reply

